

Trade Union Stakeholder Forum at the OECD Ministerial on the Digital Economy

Sustainable & Inclusive Innovation: Quality Jobs and Skills in the Digital Economy

Tuesday June 21, 2016 Cancún, Quintana Roo, Mexico

7:00 am to 9:00 am

Registration to the Forum & the Ministerial

9:00 am to 9:30 am

Opening and Keynote Address

John Evans, General Secretary, TUAC

Hans Mathieu, Representative for Mexico, Friedrich Ebert Stiftung (FES)

9:30 am to 10:45 am

Technological Transformation & New Regulatory Models

Moderator: **Tim Noonan,** Communications Director, ITUC

Catalina Achermann, Expert for telecommunications, digital ecosystems, new technologies, and public policy, CEPAL

Robert T Atkinson, President, Information Technology and Innovation Foundation (ITIF)

Yann Bonnet, General Secretary, Conseil National du Numérique (French Digital Council), France

Nat Sakimura, Chairman, OpenID Foundation

Damon Silvers, Policy Director and Special Councel, AFL-CIO

Conrado García Velasco, General Secretary, Sutnotimex

KEY INTERVENER:

Ruwan Subasinghe, Legal Advisor, International Transport Workers' Federation (ITF)

11:00 am to 12:30 pm

Policy Frameworks for Quality Jobs & Skills of Tomorrow

Moderator: **David Robinson,** Executive Director, Canadian Association of University Teachers and Senior Advisor, Education International

Juan Diaz de la Torre, President of the General Union Council of SNTE (National Union of Educational Workers)

Philip Jennings, General Secretary, UNI Global Union

Mark Keese, Head of the Employment Analysis and Policy Division in the Directorate for Employment, Labour and Social Affairs, OECD

Moazam Mahmood, Acting Director of the ILO Employment Department

Rebecca Smith, Deputy Director, National Employment Law Project (NELP)

KEY INTERVENER:

Arnaud Breuil, Director of International Partnerships, Groupe UP, France

12:30 pm – 2:00 pm

Joint Stakeholder Lunch

2:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Trade Union Approaches for the Next Production Revolution

Moderator: **Anna Byhovskaya,** Policy Advisor, TUAC

Nanna Højlund, Vice-President, Danish Confederation of Trade Unions (LO-DK)

Sonia Jorge, Executive Director, Alliance for Affordable Internet

Eric Manzi, General Secretary, CESTRAR

Jordy Micheli, Professor, Universidad Autónoma Metropolitana (UAM)

Alejandro Pisanty, Professor at the National University of Mexico (UNAM), former member of the ICANN Board and Chair of ISOC Mexico

Andrew W. Wyckoff, Director for Science, Technology and Innovation, OECD

3:00 pm to 3:15 pm

Break

3:15 pm to 4:15 pm

Civil Society-Trade Union Panel: Consumers & Workers in a Digital World

Moderator: Plamen Dimitrov, President, CITUB

Bhairavi Desai, Executive Director, New York Taxi Workers Alliance (NYTWA)

Mounir Mahjoubi, Chairman of the Conseil national du numérique (French Digital Council), France

Fredrik Söderqvist, Economist, Unionen

Daniel Therrien, Privacy Commissioner of Canada

Rafael Zanatta, Senior Policy Analyst, Instituto Brasileiro de Defesa do Consumidor (IDEC)

4:20 pm to 5:20 pm

Civil Society-Trade Union Concluding Panel – What is at Stake: Towards an Inclusive, Equitable, and Accountable Digital Economy

The closing session will highlight the key issues at stake at the Ministerial meeting for both the labour movement and civil society, in dialogue with the OECD.

Moderator: **Marc Rotenberg,** CSISAC Steering Committee, and President of the Electronic Privacy Information Center (EPIC)

Virgilio Andrade Martínez, Secretary of Public Administration, Federal Government of México

Daniel Sepúlveda, Ambassador and Deputy Assistant Secretary, Bureau of Economic and Business Affairs, U.S. Department of State

Philip Jennings, General Secretary, UNI Global Union

Claire Milne, CSISAC Steering Committee member, Independent Policy Consultant

Andrew W. Wyckoff, Director for Science, Technology and Innovation, OECD

5:30 pm to 6:15 pm

Ioint Stakeholder Press Conference

7:00 pm to 9:00 pm

Official Ministerial Welcome Reception